Wednesday, 7 June 2023

International Volleyball

2023 Volleyball Hall class includes Phil Dalhausser, Larissa, Katsutoshi Nekoda, Yumilka Ruiz

2023 Volleyball Hall class includes Phil Dalhausser, Larissa, Katsutoshi Nekoda, Yumilka Ruiz

Larissa Franca of Brazil at the 2015 World Series of Beach Volleyball/Ed Chan,

Generation-defining beach players Phil Dalhausser and Larissa headline the six person 2023 induction class of the International Volleyball Hall of Fame.

Additional honorees to be feted in the gala ceremony October 21 in Holyoke, Massachusetts, include indoor players Yumilka Ruiz of Cuba and Katsutoshi Nekoda of Japan, as well as Italian coach Silvano Prandi and Shanrit Wongprasert of Thailand.

The six entering the Hall will be numbers 162-167 so honored since William G. Morgan, the inventor of volleyball itself, became the first in 1985. Wongprasert becomes the first from Thailand, now the 26th country to be recognized.

“The achievements of the class of 2023 are undeniably extraordinary,” IVHF executive director George Mulry said. “From exhibiting unparalleled dominance in both indoor and beach volleyball across for more than sixty years to overseeing structure and competition for an entire continent, the IVHF is privileged to recognize these deserving individuals, along with our award recipients.

“Each honoree brings a unique story that will be shared with the world and we invite you to join us in Holyoke to witness it in person.”

Also announced are four special-award winners, recognized for their contributions to the IVHF or the sport of volleyball. They include the AVP getting the Court of Honor award, the Homewood Suites Holyoke and Susan Concepcion for the William G. Morgan Award, and outgoing American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) executive director Kathy DeBoer, who will get the prestigious Mintonette Award. Also honored earlier in 2023 was Hector “Picky” Soto of Puerto Rico with the Mayoral Award of Excellence.

“Since 1985, the IVHF has had the distinct honor of inducting the legends of our sport while recognizing them for their storied careers and numerous accomplishments,” said IVHF president Steve Bishop, also the president of the Florida Region of USA Volleyball. “This year we look forward to welcoming another amazing class of inductees, along with several very deserving special award winners. We cannot wait to create new memories with this 2023 class of award winners.”

Dalhausser and Larissa (Franca Maestrini) were notified of their selections on Friday where both were playing in the AVP Huntington Beach Open. Dalhausser, parterning with Avery Drost, ultimately placed fifth, with Larissa and her…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at…