Monday, 26 February 2024

International Volleyball



Nine teams to compete in Chennai, serve-off on February 15

The third edition of India’s RuPay Prime Volleyball League powered by A23 is set to start on February 15 and the entire season will be played in Chennai. A new franchise has been added to the league. With the arrival of rookies Delhi Toofans, the number of participating teams has risen to nine.

  • Watch India’s Prime Volleyball League live and on demand on VBTV.

The entire 2024 season of the Prime Volleyball League will be staged at the SDAT multi-purpose 5,000-seater indoor stadium in Chennai, the capital of India’s southernmost state Tamil Nadu. Chennai is also home to one of the franchises participating in the league, Chennai Blitz.

The first stage of PVL 2024 will be played in a single round-robin format. A total of 36 matches will be played from February 15 through March 10 to determine the final regular season standings. According to the PVL rules, every regular season game is played in five sets. A 5-0 victory brings the winners three points towards the standings. Any other win brings two points.

In the opening match on February 15 at 18:30 local time (13:00 UTC), hosts Chennai Blitz will take on defending 2023 champions Ahmedabad Defenders. In the second match later that day, 2023 runners-up Bengaluru Torpedoes will challenge 2022 champions Kolkata Thunderbolts. Newcomers Delhi Toofans, the first participating team from northern India, will make their debut on February 16 with a game against last season’s rookies Mumbai Meteors. Calicut Heroes, Hyderabad Black Hawks and Kochi Blue Spikers are the other three teams to join the regular season action.

The PVL will be further expanded through the introduction of the so-called Super 5s. It is the second stage of the season, in which the top five teams from the first stage will battle it out in the 10 matches of another single round-robin. The Super 5s will be played from March 11 through 18.

The team finishing the Super 5s on top of the standings will earn a direct ticket to the final on March 21. The teams finishing second and third will move on to meet each other in a semifinal match, called Eliminator, to be played on March 19. The winner of the semifinal will also progress to the final.

So the entire season will feature a total of 48 matches, constituting a 55% increase compared to last…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Asian Volleyball Confederation…