Para Volleyball

USA’s Three-Peat Team: Paris 2024 roster announced USA’s Three-Peat Team: Paris 2024 roster announced

USA's Three-Peat Team: Paris 2024 roster announced USA's Three-Peat Team: Paris 2024 roster announced

USA Volleyball announced the 12 athletes who will represent the United States at the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games women’s sitting volleyball competition, aiming to secure their third consecutive gold medal after victories in Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020.

The roster includes nine returning players from the Tokyo 2020 gold-winning team and a total of 11 Paralympic gold medallists. The returning players are Katie Holloway Bridge, Whitney Dosty, Heather Erickson, Kaleo Kanahele Maclay, Monique Matthews, Emma Schieck, Lexi Shifflett-Patterson,  Lora Webster-Bargellini and Bethany Zummo.

Adding depth to the team are Tia Edwards and Nicky Nieves, both gold medallists from Rio 2016, along with libero Sydney Satchell, who will make her Paralympic debut in Paris.

Veteran player Webster will be making her sixth Paralympic appearance, while Bridge and Erickson will each participate in their fifth. Kanahele Maclay and Matthews are set for their fourth Games. Zummo and Shifflett return for their third Paralympics, with Dosty, Edwards, Nieves, and Schieck returning for their second.

The team is led by head coach Bill Hamiter, who has been with the team since 2008. Assistant coaches Michelle Goodall and Leo Filho bring additional experience and expertise, with Goodall attending her third Paralympic Games and Filho making his debut.

Since 2004, the USA team has consistently medalled at every Paralympic Games, achieving their first gold at Rio 2016 and repeating the feat at Tokyo 2020. The team has also won silver at London 2012 and Beijing 2008, and bronze at Athens 2004.

In Paris, Team USA will compete in Pool A alongside China, France and Italy. Pool B consists of Canada, Brazil, Rwanda, and Slovenia. They will start their Paralympic title defence against China, a team they have faced in the last four Paralympic finals, and recently defeated twice at the WPV Women’s Super 6.

Paris 2024 Roster

  1. Lora Webster-Bargellini
  2. Bethany Zummo
  3. Lexi Schifflet-Patterson
  4. Katie Holloway Bridge
  5. Heather Erickson
  6. Monique Matthews
  7. Whitney Dosty
  8. Tia Edwards
  9. Sydney Satchel
  10. Emma Schieck
  11. Kaleo Kanahele Maclay
  12. Nicky Nieves

Team Officials

Head Coach: Bill Hamiter
Assistant Coaches: Leo Filho, Michelle Goodall
Team Leader: Patrick Lawrence
Athletic Trainer: Kat King
Performance Analyst: Jeffery Hicks
Team Psychologist: Adam O’Neil
Athletic Performance Coach: Bobby Moore
Dietitian: Jacque Scaramella

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at World ParaVolley…