NCAA Womens Volleyball

16 Union Student-Athletes Recognized on Prize Day

16 Union Student-Athletes Recognized on Prize Day

SCHENECTADY, N.Y. – Union College held its annual Prize Day on May 11, with numerous Union College student-athletes combining to earn 17 honors in recognition for their academic success. Twelve of Union’s 26 varsity sports were represented with at least one award, with the baseball team leading the way with three awards and the women’s hockey, tennis, track & field and volleyball teams all adding two honors each.
The campus community gathered in Memorial Chapel to watch more than 100 prizes be awarded to honor students for achievement in academics, leadership and community service.
In addition to President David Harris, the Prize Day ceremony featured remarks from Michele Angrist, the Stephen J. and Diane K. Ciesinski Dean of Faculty and vice president for Academic Affairs; Annette Diorio, vice president for Student Affairs and Dean of Students; Isabel Norman, class dean for the Class of 2024; and Kara Doyle, dean of Academic Departments and Programs. Lani Waggoner, president of Student Forum, served as master of ceremonies.

David Brind (1982) Memorial Prize in English – To one or more outstanding senior students in English.

Emily King (Women’s Hockey)

Milton Hymes Sternfeld (1916) Prize – For the best original essay in philosophy by a member of the senior class.

Brooke Fleming (Women’s Volleyball)

Frankel Prize – For outstanding achievement in a religion course.

Jack Klein (Baseball)

Hans Pasch Memorial Prize – Awarded for the best essay written about the Holocaust.

Kyle Patlove (Baseball)

Rotary Foundation Endowed Prize for International Study – To the senior who shows the greatest promise and interest in an area of international relations, with preference to a student from Schenectady County.

Kyle Patlove (Baseball)

Roger Thayer Stone (1928) Prize – To the sociology major who produces the best senior thesis.

Glory Moncion Allen (Women’s Track & Field)

Robert M. Fuller (1863) Sophomore Prize – To the sophomore who demonstrates outstanding work, ability, and promise in chemistry.

Erik Roberts (Men’s Crew)

Geology Faculty Prize – To the student who contributes most to the academic and social fabric of the Geosciences Department.

Nikki Newcomer (Women’s Volleyball)

Alice P. and Donald C. Loughry (1952) Prize in Electrical Engineering – To the student completing the best senior…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Union College Athletics…