Sunday, 14 April 2024
Trending

NCAA Beach Volleyball

Defending NCAA Champion USC Beach Volleyball Opens 2024 on Hawaiian Sand

Defending NCAA Champion USC Beach Volleyball Opens 2024 on Hawaiian Sand


Women’s Beach Volleyball | February 21, 2024

HONOLULU – The three-time defending NCAA champion and No. 1-ranked USC beach volleyball team (0-0) makes its 2024 debut with the Trojans’ first trip to Hawai’i since 2018. USC will face a stacked field in the Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Classic with duals against No. 2 UCLA, No. 5 Loyola Marymount, No. 7 Stanford, and ninth-ranked host Hawai’i. All matches will be played on Queen’s Beach. 

THIS WEEK

OUTRIGGER DUKE KAHANAMOKU BEACH INVITATIONAL

Queen’s Beach • Honolulu, Hawai’i

MATCH #1 • Thursday, Feb. 22 10:15 a.m. HT (12:15 p.m. PT)

No. 1 USC (0-0) vs. No. 2 UCLA (0-0)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 23-17 (.575)

STREAK: Won 1 • LAST 10: 7-3

LAST MEETING: W 3-2 (May 7, 2023 • Gulf Shores, Ala.)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: UCLABruins.com

MATCH #2 • Thursday, Feb. 22 2 p.m. HT (4 p.m. PT)

No. 1 USC (0-0) vs. No. 7 Stanford (0-0)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 13-0 (1.000)

STREAK: Won 13 • LAST 10: 10-0

LAST MEETING: W 5-0 (March 12, 2023 • MNS)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: GoStanford.com

MATCH #3 • Friday, Feb. 23 10:15 a.m. HT (12:15 p.m. PT)

No. 1 USC (0-0) vs. No. 5 Loyola Marymount (0-0)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 27-0 (1.000)

STREAK: Won 27 • LAST 10: 10-0

LAST MEETING: W 3-1 (May 6, 2023 • Gulf Shores, Ala.)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: LMULions.com

MATCH #4 • Friday, Feb. 23 12:45 p.m. HT (2:45 p.m. PT)

No. 1 USC (0-0) at No. 9 Hawai’i (0-0)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 15-3 (.833)

STREAK: Won 3 • LAST 10: 8-2

LAST MEETING: W 5-0 (April 2, 2022 • Manhattan Beach)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: HawaiiAthletics.com

BARE E-SAND-SHELLS  TL;DR

  • USC has won the last three NCAA championships and owns six national titles including the first NCAA crown in 2016 (AVCA ’15, NCAA ’17, ’21, ’22, ’23).
  • The Trojans have won four Pac-12 championships (2016, ’17, ’19, ’22).
  • USC is 105-15 (.875) under fifth-year head coach Dain Blanton.
  • The Trojans are ranked No. 1 in both the AVCA and CBVB polls. It is the 101st time (of 101) USC is ranked by the AVCA; its 100th time among the top 5. The Trojans have also held the No. 1 spot a record 43 times.
  • USC is 23-2 all-time in the Aloha State. Both losses were to host Hawai’i and both occurred on back-to-back days in 2018, the last time the Women of Troy played a dual in the state of Hawai’i.
  • The…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at USC Athletics…