Thursday, 18 April 2024
Trending

NCAA Beach Volleyball

No. 1 USC Beach Volleyball Primed for Four on Pompano Beach Sand

No. 1 USC Beach Volleyball Primed for Four on Pompano Beach Sand


Women’s Beach Volleyball | March 12, 2024

LOS ANGELES – The No. 1-ranked USC beach volleyball team (12-2) heads to the Sunshine State this week for the FAU Beach Invitational hosted by Florida Atlantic at the Pompano Beach Pier in Pompano Beach, Fla. The Women of Troy ride an eight-dual win streak into a four-match weekend in South Florida where they will take on Palm Beach Atlantic (9-6) for the first time and then meet 16th-ranked host FAU (9-4) on Friday (March 15). On Saturday (March 16), USC will tackle No. 12 Florida International (11-2) and No. 5 TCU (11-1) in back-to-back duals to close out spring break on the East Coast.

THIS WEEK

FAU BEACH INVITATIONAL

Pompano Beach Pier • Pompano Beach, Fla.

MATCH #15 • Friday, Mar. 15 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT

No. 1 USC (12-2) vs. Palm Beach Atlantic (9-6)

SERIES HISTORY: First meeting

STREAK: First meeting • LAST 10: N/A

LAST MEETING: First meeting

OPPONENT WEBSITE: http://www.PBASailfish.com

MATCH #16 • Friday, Mar. 15 11:10 a.m. ET/8:10 a.m. PT

No. 1 USC (12-2) at No. 16 Florida Atlantic (9-4)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 5-0 (1.000)

STREAK: Won 5 • LAST 10: 5-0

LAST MEETING: W 3-2 (Mar. 17, 2023 • Miami, Fla.)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: FAUSports.com

MATCH #17 • Saturday, Mar. 16 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT

No. 1 USC (12-2) vs. No. 12 Florida International (11-2)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 10-0 (1.000)

STREAK: Won 10 • LAST 10: 10-0

LAST MEETING: W 5-0 (April 1, 2023 • Manhattan Beach)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: FIUSports.com

MATCH #18 • Saturday, Mar. 16 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT

No. 1 USC (12-2) vs. No. 5 TCU (11-1)

SERIES HISTORY: USC leads, 6-1 (.857)

STREAK: Won 1 • LAST 10: 6-1

LAST MEETING: W 3-2 (May 6, 2023 • Gulf Shores, Ala.)

OPPONENT WEBSITE: GoFrogs.com

BARE E-SAND-SHELLS  TL;DR

  • USC has won the last three NCAA championships and owns six national titles including the first NCAA crown in 2016 (AVCA ’15, NCAA ’17, ’21, ’22, ’23).
  • The Trojans have won four Pac-12 championships (2016, ’17, ’19, ’22).
  • USC is 117-17 (.873) under fifth-year head coach Dain Blanton.
  • The Trojans are ranked No. 1 in the AVCA (No. 1, CBVB). It is the 104th time (of 104) USC is ranked by the AVCA; its 103rd time among the top 5. The Trojans have also held the No. 1 spot a record 44 times.
  • The Women of Troy…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at USC Athletics…