NCAA Womens Volleyball

Spartans Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Designation

Spartans Earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Designation

East Lansing, Mich. – The Big Ten Conference announced Monday its list of 2023-24 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars.  The 2023-24 class of Distinguished Scholar Award recipients includes 132 overall honorees from Michigan State,  44 of them who maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA during the eligibility period.   
Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career. 

A complete list of the 2023-24 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award recipients can be found below.  



Tate Farquhar – So., Highland, Mich./Information Science        

Dillon Kark – Sr., White Lake, Mich./ Strategic Communication         

Dominic Pianto – Jr., Hendersonville, Tenn./Accounting         

Nick Powers – Sr., Flushing, Mich./ Advertising Management        

Gavin Sitarz – So., St. Charles, Ill./Finance        

Christian Williams – Jr., Carmel, Ind./Kinesiology        


Men’s Basketball                     

Steven Izzo – Gr., East Lansing, Mich./ Education        

Nick Sanders – So., Franklin, Mich./ Marketing        


Women’s Basketball                     

Julia Ayrault  – Gr., Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich./Education MA        


Field Hockey                    

Jillian Bonczewski – Jr., Larksville, Pa./Elementary Education        

Cecily Charles – So., Millersville, Pa./Criminal Justice        

Lulu Fulton – Sr., Auckland, NZ/Psychology        

Ashley Harlock – Sr., Livonia, Mich./Neuroscience        

Eliza Kreske  – Sr., Ann Arbor, Mich./Social Relations and Policy    

Emma O’Neill – Sr.,  Hummelstown, Pa./Special Education/Learning…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Michigan State University Athletics…