Saturday, 30 September 2023

NCAA Womens Volleyball

Wisconsin Claims Top Spot in Big Ten Volleyball Preseason Poll

Wisconsin Claims Top Spot in Big Ten Volleyball Preseason Poll

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Reigning Big Ten Champion Wisconsin received 13 first-place votes to secure the top spot in the 2023 Big Ten Volleyball Preseason Poll, which was announced Friday. The Big Ten also released its 15-member Preseason All-Big Ten Team.
The preseason poll and all-conference teams were voted on by the conference’s 14 head coaches. Eight members of the preseason all-conference team will attend Big Ten Volleyball Media Days, scheduled for Tuesday and Wednesday (Aug. 1-2) at the Big Ten Network studios in Chicago.
Last year Wisconsin collected its fourth-straight Big Ten Championship, fashioning a 21-match win streak in the process. Nebraska is projected to field a strong team as well, earning the second-most points in preseason balloting. Minnesota, Penn State and Purdue round out the top five.
Three members of the preseason all-conference team were unanimous selections: Nebraska libero/defensive specialist Lexi Rodriguez, Penn State setter Mac Podraza and Purdue outside hitter Eva Hudson. Podraza was named Big Ten Setter of the Year at Ohio State last year and Hudson earned the Big Ten Freshman of the Year award. The preseason team also features Minnesota outside hitter Taylor Landfair, the 2022 Big Ten Player of the Year, and Minnesota libero Kylie Murr, who earned Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honors at Ohio State in 2022.
The preseason all-conference team features nine additional players from the 2022 All-Big Ten First Team: Illinois outside hitter Raina Terry, Indiana setter Camryn Haworth, Minnesota setter Melani Shaffmaster, Ohio State opposite Emily Londot, Penn State outside hitter Jess Mruzik (Michigan transfer), Wisconsin middle blocker Carter Booth (Minnesota transfer), Wisconsin outside hitter Sarah Franklin, Wisconsin opposite Devyn Robinson and Wisconsin outside hitter Temi Thomas-Ailara (Northwestern transfer). Ohio State middle blocker Rylee Rader is a returning All-Big Ten Second Team member.
The NCAA volleyball season begins in mid-August with Big Ten conference action starting Sept. 20.


1. Wisconsin

2. Nebraska

3. Minnesota

4. Penn State

5. Purdue

6. Ohio State

7.  Illinois

8. Indiana

9. Maryland

10. Michigan


12. Michigan State

13. Iowa

14. Rutgers


Name School

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Big Ten Conference…